March 14, 2010

Favorite RPG Music Soundtracks

Posted in music tagged , , at 11:20 pm by riulyn

I wouldn’t be a RPG music arranger if I didn’t like RPG music, and if I didn’t spend hours listening to certain songs over and over again. There’s always a sense of accomplishment that accompanies each sheet music that I produce. Sometimes each note that I figure out. I have pride in my relative pitch, though it’s been failing a bit, which isn’t a good sign for RPG music arranging nor music playing in general. Maybe I should join a band again.

Anyway, I figured I might list out a few of my favorite RPG music soundtracks. I don’t know if I have an absolute favorite. I guess it would be nice to have one if, for some reason, I had to make a recommendation. At least listing out a favorite RPG soundtrack is much easier than figuring out my favorite RPG song ever…

Favorite RPG soundtracks – I feel like I enjoy these mostly for the good music, not just game preference – not in order

  • Chrono Cross
  • Xenosaga 3
  • Legend of Mana

Others I really enjoy – somewhat related to how I liked the overall game package as well

  • Xenogears
  • Chrono Trigger
  • Tales of Phantasia
  • Lufia 2
  • Final Fantasy 6
  • Xenosaga 1

I feel like I’m forgetting some, but I think the most important ones are here… You might notice that a lot of those series have multiple sheet musics on my website. Back in the day, when I used to arrange sheet music based on whatever I felt like arranging, I believe I was really cranking out the Chrono Cross, Tales of Phantasia, and Lufia stuff. Maybe one day I’ll finish a game, arrangements-wise. I wonder which game will get finished first…

Leave a Reply

