April 4, 2012

Watching LPs in a Second Language

Posted in video games tagged , , at 9:22 am by riulyn

My recent interests besides learning Japanese (slowly, I must add) is browsing YouTube for some LPs (Let’s Plays) that are done in a language that I understand some of but not in English. I’ve done most of my searching in Spanish and German. Here’s what I look for:

  1. Text is translated into target language. I’m usually watching a LP in a foreign language so I get used to seeing dialogue in that language, so I am mostly watching LPs of RPGs. I don’t have a preference for whether it is a game I’ve played before or not, though the nostalgia factor helps with games I have played before that are not so popular (aka not Final Fantasy games).
  2. The LPer actually says something. Reading the dialogue with some emotions is nice, but also having commentary in the target language. If the dialogue is being shown in English, the LPer needs to orally translate the dialogue rather accurately. It’s easier for me to tell if that’s the case in Spanish where I have basic fluency. I’m not so sure for German, but then again I probably wouldn’t understand half of what the person was saying anyway… But I think it would be obvious if the LPer was leaving out key information in his or her translation.
  3. The videos aren’t too long. I like them to be 20 minutes or less. If I want to devote a bit of time to Spanish, German, whatever else, then I can’t spend too much time on any one video.

For Spanish, sometimes searching for “Vamos a jugar” works for getting LPs. I have been okay so far using “Let’s Play german” for German videos.

If anyone has recommendations for non-FF RPG LPs in Spanish or German (top priorities), Russian (that would be amazing), French or Italian or Portuguese (interested but will put off for a bit), please leave me a comment!

Also, I can never watch too many Suikoden series translations.

Leave a Reply

