April 9, 2012

First time Con Adventure

Posted in life, video games tagged , , at 7:53 pm by riulyn

This past weekend I finally checked out Sakura-con after living in Seattle for 3.5 years. My friend and I made sure we would be free this time and pre-registered. I probably should have gotten the $30 pre-register price for next year, but I guess I am not 100% sure I will be there. More like 90% sure since I’m not going to graduate that soon.

Anyway it was pretty fun just people watching (lots of interesting costumes), shopping (bought too many games, and this is totally the wrong place to be buying games), and anime music videos were great. Panels were hit and miss of course; some people are better at this stuff than others. I learned who Todd Haberkorn was and he was pretty funny; he led some well-organized, funny panels. Even though I don’t really watch much anime, it was still fun. I guess it helped that I had watched a relatively recent anime, Durarara, so I wasn’t completely out of the loop. I mean, I know a bit about Bleach and Naruto but I have not watched them. My friend had to tell me who was cosplaying what. Now I have a list of anime to watch along with a list of games to play. (I HAVE RADIANT HISTORIA!!!!)

I was sad that there wasn’t much JRPG cosplaying. Supposedly Georg Prime and some Lunar SSS cosplay happened but I missed them. It was pretty Link-tastic, FF7 and Kingdom Hearts. Strangely enough I have limited experience with Zelda. I think I played A Link to the Past but never finished it? Of course I don’t play much Zelda because I suck at those kind of games, let alone I don’t own the right gaming systems. As for the FF series, FF7 isn’t a bad game or anything but it’s all over, whereas the poor Suikoden series…

I’m sad that the con is over. I just missing seeing people walking around in costume and such. Also, general nerdiness. Anyway, I am stalking the Offical PAX twitter so hopefully I will get the three day pass to PAX this year. I’ll probably hit up every panel I can about videogame music, even if I am only a JRPG player. Because, of course, videogame music is awesome!

Leave a Reply

