August 19, 2012

More Top 5 – My Top 5 JRPG Main Characters

Posted in video games tagged , , at 7:35 am by riulyn

A bland main character doesn’t turn me off a game per say but a great main character can really make up for other shortcomings, whether it is other party members, the overall plot, or gameplay mechanics. This list is pretty biased towards things I like in characters more than actual well-developed characters, so don’t be offended if your favorite character isn’t here. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve only beaten 50 JRPGs and played maybe 80?

Also, I am not listing the five in ranked order, because I just don’t have a hierarchy yet.

  • Freyjadour (Suikoden V). Yes he’s a silent protagonist, but he has so many facial expressions. And he has such a lovely relationship with his family and the Knights. Even though you can “choose” to say certain things to certain people, it’s hard to see him as someone who’s not forgiving, warm-hearted, smiling brightly when he’s happy.
  • Kaim Argonar (Lost Odyssey). The Thousand Years of Dreams that relate to him have endeared him to me more than anything in the actual plot, with the huge mix of life wisdom, loneliness, willing to ask the hard questions, sticking to his core beliefs, not exactly afraid of contradictions and hypocrisy… I wish he existed in real life so I could talk to him, seriously.
  • Lenneth (Valkyrie Profile). She made Valkyrie Profile for me.
  • Terra (FFVI). Well, it’s hard to say if she’s exactly the main character as she becomes optional in the second half of the game, but I think she still counts as she is the main force of the first part. Terra was the MC of the first JRPG I played so there is some nostalgia factor, but I guess I love her self-identity quest.
  • Yuri Lowell (Tales of Vesperia). A main character who is willing to sacrifice his honor in order to save others from suffering. A main character with hella snark capabilities. A kind heart, a strong heart, a brave heart. My favorite Tales protagonist by far.

Honorable mentions – Kalas (Baiten Kaitos), Sieg (MC of Suikoden Tierkreis, with the added bonus of a crazy fast voice), Stocke (from what I’ve seen of Radiant Historia)

Leave a Reply

