August 27, 2012

August productivity not quite the same this year

Posted in life, video games tagged , , , , at 1:13 pm by riulyn

I’m sure no one pays as much attention to when I update my sheet music website as I do, but it you were one of those few who do, then you know the past two Augusts have been very update-filled. This year it’s going to be different, as I have yet to update for August and will probably only post one song once I get off my game-playing ass and type it up.

Yep, this August has been good for catching up on gaming. After all, I had the balance of hours spent playing RPGs to hours working on RPG sheet music incredibly skewed towards working on sheet music these past few years. But starting in April, after going to Sakuracon and realizing it’s a lot easier to talk nerd about JRPGs than music from JRPGs that you haven’t even played. Since April I have beaten 4 games (Lost Odyssey this past Saturday) and I may soon beat Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky. When was the last time I finished 2 games in a month? Probably high school.

Ah, high school. Over the summer I could beat a game a week if I really tried. I sometimes did…I’m sure I beat the first Suikoden in a week or less. FFVIII was beaten pretty quickly too. If it was during the school year, I could probably get a game done in 1 or 2 months, with religious after-school playing for 2 hours. I would work on sheet music mostly on weekends for a few hours a day, and maybe a bit during the week. I never had a lot of homework or school activities except when I was doing track, and that was only in the beginning. I was still even reading more than I do now! What the hell do I do now…oh, the internet… 🙂

Anyway this new balance will probably be tweaked a bit as I will get a bit tired of gaming weekends and cool the gaming hours a bit. I was playing lots of Lost Odyssey but had to take most of the week off just to cool off and I watched some anime (unless you are into shonen-ai, probably wouldn’t recommend Sekaiichi Hatsukoi…). I also found some motivation to do more labwork/day as I’m working on analyzing a new experiment. Every year I think I’m going to actually understand how my motivation works and plan accordingly, but things always change because of one stimulus or another. I can’t even predict what I’ll do in my spare time next week. Especially with PAX coming up, who knows what will become my main driving force after that?

1 Comment »

  1. Rei said,

    Hi Riulyn, I’ve loved your work for years now and periodically check on your site to see what’s new – thanks for all of your hard work and dedication – I play piano and can read sheet music but absolutely suck at playing by ear, so I’m always trying to find sheets for my beloved video game music, and I adore your arrangements. I’m off to hunt for more music, but it’s great to see you posting new stuff! 🙂


Leave a Reply

