September 2, 2012

Post-PAX and my backlog

Posted in video games tagged , , , , , at 6:15 pm by riulyn

PAX sure was fun! I went to the Pink Party the day before I had access to PAX and found someone to meet up with at PAX, which was cool. Even though we only spent a few hours together which was in Nintendoland, it was cool. Before that I wandered around, looked for things that didn’t have a line and weren’t PC games/using a keyboard to play them, because I am a coward like that. No, seriously, I didn’t want to spend my demo time being confused on which keys to hit the entire time.

There wasn’t too much console RPG fare that wasn’t a shooter-type or a MMORPG, but I did try out Persona 4 Golden, Ragnorak Odyssey, and Dragon Fantasy. If there was something I obviously missed, well I guess it was too bad. The best part of PAX for me was trying games in genres I rarely play because I am hesitant to spend money on a game I don’t see myself putting 20+ hours into. Even if gameplay mechanics are a bummer I will play through most RPGs if I like the characters and/or story. I’ve already said multiple times on this blog that I play games for the story and characters, and to find hidden info. I mean, that’s why a videogame can be more fun than books; books focus on telling the main story and don’t have the room in the narrative to go off on so many tangents into the world or specific characters. The people who love JRPGs are most likely the people who want to do the sidequests and talk to all the NPCs and search for character-specific items, maybe because they love collecting things or maybe because they just want to know everything about the characters they have fallen in love with.

Anyway, it’s hard to tell from a demo whether or not you’ll instantly buy a game. It’s more for telling whether or not you’d hate a game. None of the games I tried, besides some weird rhythm game involving ships, were games I’d never play again. And even that game wasn’t bad, it’s just rhythm games aren’t really my thing, even less than shooters. I had heard that Persona 4 Golden was on the Vita because they wanted to allow you to move around freely and stuff, but in the short period of time I got to play the game, I had no chance to move. JRPGs and their cutscenes are against me, I suppose šŸ™‚ For Ragnorak Odyssey I did a quest just to try out battling, which seems relatively standard action RPG fare (I did not do too great at it, just so you know). When I visited Dragon Fantasy, I was able to talk to the guy at the booth while playing a bit of it. There wasn’t much to the demo; only had 2 spells, one party member, and turn-based battle system like Chrono Trigger. Supposedly in multiplayer you can play together and each person issues a command for the individual they play in the party. Could be interesting if I had friends…

Played a little bit of Kirby and got a Kirby massage ball. Also tried Pokemon Conquest. I’m sure it is fun, but I have a decent-sized tactics backlog – Jeanne D’arc, Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together, Growlanser Generations, and I haven’t quite finished off Valkyrie Profile: Covenant of the Plume. Also I plan to do a Suikoden replay session starting late this year/early next year so Suikoden Tactics is on the list for being replayed in the near future.

I think the biggest thing I took away from PAX is that the Vita, 3DS, and Wii U are all good systems but they need new RPGs for me to play. Persona 4 Golden is not selling me the Vita and Kingdom Hearts is not selling me the 3DS. The Wii U looks like a great party system but an overly complicated (I failed so hard at Zombie U) single-player system. Consoles are too expensive to buy if you are only going to get 3 or 4 games you want out of them. Of course I thoroughly enjoyed Lost Odyssey and Tales of Vesperia and I like NieR so far but I don’t think these games changed my life. The PSP is eventually worth its money to me, and same for the DS. I still continue to buy PS1 and PS2 games because there were so many I missed. Maybe there will be that day for the PS3 or the Xbox 360. The Wii has Xenoblade, so I’d probably get a Wii if my brother wasn’t going to lend me his. Maybe I can convince him to let me keep it?

2 Comments »

  1. Robert said,

    hi! I’ll do a more thorough look through of your blog when it’s not bed time, but, you do game music? Do you record and post online for people like me to listen to? I like game music, particularly RPG music, though I wouldn’t say I’m a game music geek.

    Pokemon Conquest is a pretty fun game, but trying to go through all the post game scenarios to unlock another spin with the main character is kind of like a big grind. I’m still happy with it though.

    If you’re open to downloading PS1 classics to the PSP there are a ton of S/RPGs to find on there, so the PSP definitely became worth it in the last couple years. It was a bit barren for a long while, but there’s some great stuff now. I think the 3DS will start picking up when Nintendo lets other full retail games sell on eshop. I’m hoping it happens soon.

    • riulyn said,

      I transcribe and/or arrange RPG music for piano and have a website with free pdfs for people to use. There’s not much to listen to besides the midis, if that’s your thing… Otherwise I have a YouTube account [riulynpiano] where I play some stuff on my keyboard.

      The only Pokemon games I’ve played a lot of is Pokemon Red & Blue. I always enjoyed playing the games when I had them but I’ve only recently been spending a lot of regular time with handhelds. Now that it appears that I have full ownership of the DS and PSP, I’m starting to build up a game library for both of them without killing my budget…

      As for digital games, I prefer physical copies because I love staring at actual disks and cases, but it definitely would be easier to carry around multiple games. I’m not exactly sure which PS1 games are available, but I definitely would like to try Vagrant Story, Legend of Dragoon, Grandia, Front Mission 3 if I can’t manage a physical copy. I did recently find Wild Arms and Saga Frontier II at a used game shop nearby so I’m in no hurry to get downloads.


Leave a Reply

