November 21, 2012

Being Thankful

Posted in life tagged , , at 5:15 pm by riulyn

It’s Thanksgiving week in the U.S. and unlike the past few years, I have taken time off to fly back home to see my parents. Our family has not been together (all 5 of us) for a few years. It’s been nice so far. Tomorrow we are off to see some other relatives that I haven’t seen in over 5 years. Time flies.

There are plenty of things to be thankful about, and since this is my video game blog, of course I’ll be thankful to have video games to play and enjoy. There’s something you can do with RPG-type video games that you can’t do with books or movies. While I enjoy books and movies (books a lot more than movies; I love reading), there’s something about that video game that stays with me longer than any book. Maybe it’s the length, the interaction, the quirkiness, the music…

Maybe I could have found a book community to emerge onto the internet with. Maybe I would have worked more on fanfiction. But the way my life turned out, it happened to be Japanese RPGs. I happen to have Mankow to gift me consoles and games to borrow and for RPG discussion every once in a while. My best friend is starting to get into video games too. RPG music transcription gives me something to do. I can still write fanfiction if I stop being lazy 🙂 I can even practice Japanese with my copy of Suikoden I & II for PSP. I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to choose.

A few months ago I was worried about my parents’ reaction to me still playing video games but they could have cared less. They treated me like the kid I needed them to treat me as. I recently turned 25 and every year that I get older I’m “supposed to” be an adult, a female who wants to act female, but I continue to refuse (on the inside, at least). So I’m thankful every day that I can be me and not get bullied.

I hope all of you guys can be thankful for something. If you can’t be right now, I hope you can be in the future.

Leave a Reply

