November 30, 2012

Suikoden Day

Posted in video games tagged , at 9:57 am by riulyn

Today is Suikoden Day, an event organized on Facebook for Suikoden fans to gather, share stuff, chat, and have fun. To be honest, it’s one of my favorite days of the year. The day pretty much covers the reasons I love the Suikoden games.

  1. A gathering of a huge variety of people with different skills/opinions/personalities.
  2. A big ol’ party.
  3. Banter.
  4. Multiple entries in the same “world”.

Yeah, that was a bit of a stretch to relate the two. I think why I participate in Suikoden Day and wouldn’t do so for most other series is because Suikoden holds a special place in my heart. The Suikoden series kept me in gaming (during my sparse period of 2008-2012 with Suikoden Tierkreis being one of the few games I bought and beat). The Suikoden series motivates me to learn Japanese. It’s certainly fun to transcribe music from it.

There’s just something desperate about this event too. We crave more main series games because we need to know what happens  in the world post Suikoden III. We gather and rally because if we don’t, we worry that we’ll never know the answer.

Maybe we’re wondering, if we gather together, can we change our destiny? At least there is well more than 108 of us trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

