July 1, 2013

Hello, Atelier Iris!

Posted in video games tagged , at 10:48 pm by riulyn

In about a week and a half, I should have the Atelier Iris trilogy waiting at my doorstep. So of all the games I could buy and have yet to buy, why those games?

Personal interest in series + personal recommendation = buy when you realize you have spare money for games

Or you make yourself have spare money for games by skimping on other things ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, the Atelier series definitely flew under the radar during my earlier gaming years. The price of the PS2 games aren’t too bad even new (cheaper than getting newer games) and my PS2 apparently can never get enough games, ever. I guess these PS2 purchases are being made instead of the PS3 purchases. I guess it isn’t showing much support for this niche series since people care about recent sales, the full-price ones paid within the first month or so, but the things I’m dying to get are preordered. And I haven’t developed trust for Gust yet, as I haven’t played any Gust games before. So I’m going to go with what I hear is good and also relatively inexpensive, and hopefully develop that positive opinion.

Also, it doesn’t help that 1) I’m still waiting for Project X Zone and Muramasa Rebirth. Those games are both in my city but not at my doorstep yet! 2) Shadow Hearts: Covenant was being uncooperative…or rather, my PS2 was being really picky today so I ended up spending a few hours with Wild ARMs 4 instead. I think I’ll end up playing that series backwards, since I’m saving WA3 for the RPGamer marathon. Once you start a trend it’s just more fun to stick with it, even if it is strange.

I do plan to play Atelier Iris in order though I read that it might be better to play 2 before 1? If it’s like a Lufia 2 before Lufia 1 recommendation then I will seriously consider it, though I don’t really want to read too much into the situation for potential spoilers. Just if someone happens to read this blog and knows the answer, then please leave me a comment about it ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Comments »

  1. XenosbioZ said,

    I actually played 2 before 1… I don’t think it matters what order you play it in, but I think you should do the same as me because 2 is much easier, battling-wise, and the game mechanics while running around in the field is simplified in 2 imo.. so I think you should start with 2.

    anyways so happy that you finally picked them up! Atelier music is my favorite ever. It’s music you can actually hum. If you like those, definitely pick up Mana Khemia 1 and 2, (Atelier Iris Eternal Mana is considered Project A6, Atelier iris 2, Project A7, 3 is A8, Mana Khemia is A9, and Mana Khemia 2 is A10 so it’s actually like a five part series… Mana Khemia has my favorite music out of all of them btw (2nd favorite music is Mana Khemia 2’s)… I was really hoping you’d do covers of Mana Khemia since I started following you like 3 years ago, lol.

    ^________________^

    • riulyn said,

      Hmm, I think I will end up playing 2 before 1, whenever I get to them (maybe next year?)

      Now I’m interested in Mana Khemia music. If you have specific favorite tracks or tracks that are good for arranging, let me know and I can work on them. Well, once I get back to working on sheet music again…

  2. Joseph said,

    I personally found the Mana Khemia games better all around than the atelier games. And I think the second Atelier game was my least favorite, with the first still being the best overall. But out of the whole group Mana Khemia is still my all around favorite. All fun games though, and great additions to a PS2 jrpg collection:) What do you think of WA4? I’ve played some of it, and I feel like it’s headed in the right direction, but doesn’t quite get there until WA5 which was a blast IMO. Good cast in 4 though. Just wish jude wore real pants…

    • riulyn said,

      Hmm, I’m starting to hear more and more recommendations for Mana Khemia. I guess that’s next on the list ๐Ÿ™‚

      I ended up playing Covenant last night (my PS2 wasn’t picky this time) so I can only judge on 2 hours of WA4. I haven’t gotten into it and the introduction of Brionac was a pretty awful cutscene. I felt like WA5 was a bit of a slow starter for me as well, so I think it’s too early to judge. The hex system seems fine so far.

      • Joseph said,

        Oh yeah first section of WA4 is pretty bad, and the game only really gets good after you pick up the girl character (I’m forgetting her name) as she is probably the best character. How are you enjoying covenant?

      • riulyn said,

        Covenant is great. A lot of small changes really make it nice. The combo system is fun. Having EXP go to everyone not just party members means I don’t end up picking four people and solely using them. The one unfortunate thing so far is that Yuri’s fusions consume lots of SP per turn.

        While the game doesn’t seem as dark as the predecessor, I still feel like I need to play this game in the evening, but I also need to be awake enough for button presses, so I can’t usually put more than 3 hours into the game a day. That’s still a great amount of progress but I can’t do like a 7 hour marathon like I did with Tales of Graces f…

      • Joseph said,

        makes sense:P I actually have that problem with rpg’s often. I usually play at night, so its either sleep or get some game time in. Been working on Atelier Rorona. Trying so hard to love these time management games but I’m not sure they’re for me. We shall see. I’m almost done Graces f, but for some reason I’m right at the end and I’m not motivated to finish it. Loved the game just sort of got sidetracked lol


Leave a Reply

