September 27, 2013

The Final Push

Posted in life tagged , at 9:32 pm by riulyn

The end of 2013 is going to be huge for me. Plans to graduate, ending 5 years of graduate school. Plans to go to Japan for the first time. Possibly plans to move across the U.S. again.

Life is a mixture of looking for jobs, debating what I really want to do with my life, thinking more than working on my dissertation, and of course, gaming. My diet has gone to shit, my only exercise is walking to and from the lab, and I try to remember to hang out with people (being in an asexual meetup group helps). I spend less time gaming, I watch only a little bit of anime, my Japanese study is reduced pretty much to flashcards. I’m trying to do many things and not getting far in anything. But I think I’m making progress?

Anyway, this is a post about these next few months, specifically October and November. I kind of want to fast forward to December, where all the school obligations are done and I’m wandering around Japan. And Christmas. But before then I have a lot of things to finish up.

School-wise it’s simple. I did my last experiment today. I will need to analyze it quickly (hopefully no more than 3 weeks). I have to get a draft of my dissertation done by the end of October at the latest. I need to give my committee two weeks or so to read it before they can recommend me to defend. I need to get this done before Dec. 6, which is the day I fly out to Japan.

Job-wise I’d like to get a job so I can continue to buy things. And maybe take more programming classes or a Japanese class on the side. On the other hand, I just want to take a long break.

Gaming-wise… I got into this bad habit of starting a lot of games even while others aren’t finished. I’m trying to remedy this again. However, I really want to play Disgaea, which I saved for October. Even though I have how many PS2 games in progress? Oh well. So Disgaea takes priority in October. I just finished Ys III but the temptation to start Tactics Ogre PSP was too great, so I started that last night. Will most likely have to put that to the side. I unexpectedly finished Tales of Xillia tonight, so this weekend I will continue on with PS2 gaming or with The Last Story. Most likely Atelier Iris 2, though. For November, I will continue my Suikoden replays with Suikoden V. Suikoden Tactics just didn’t fit into my plans, but that’s okay. I’ll play that again someday. Otherwise I should really finish SMT IV. I can sense the beginning of the end. I plan to plunge the world into chaos 😀 Also, Ys IV and I will have a very, very wonderful time. Hopefully not at the cost of graduation.

Sheet music-wise, I will continue to not work on it. I think I’ll return to that around the Christmas holidays. I really have the urge to do some music from some of the games I’ve just recently played. Probably simple stuff though, just to get my ears back into shape.

Anyway, I have no idea how often or if I’ll update again this year. I tend to think of blog ideas while procrastinating, so perhaps I’ll be really active. Or I may not post here again until Christmas. I’ll continue to obsessively update my Backloggery, so you can at least keep track of my gaming 😀

4 Comments »

  1. Joseph said,

    Wow you have a very busy fall! Best of luck to you:) also, any thoughts on xillia now that you have finished it?

    • riulyn said,

      It needed to be longer! Considering it takes a while for the game to get going, the game feels like it ends 5-10 hours too early. I am looking eagerly towards the sequel, though, so I guess in that sense the game did a good job. Combat is great, especially once you get a good amount of artes for everyone, but having to worry about TP and AC was annoying (usually I ignored the latter until I realized I couldn’t attack because me AC was at 0). Probably a bit too much loot everywhere but mitigated somewhat by the fact that it was mostly minor items for shop upgrading. I think also all the characters have interesting back/side stories and they are even easier to trigger than Graces’. Hopefully you are enjoying your playthrough of Xillia!

      • Joseph said,

        I’m loving it so far, especially the combat. And yeah I really enjoy how accessible the side content is. I don’t get that feeling like I’m always missing something. I do wish the world was more detailed and fleshed out, which is something I think graces did well but yeah it has some really good stuff going for it:)

  2. Congrats on completing Xillia. Hope you enjoy Disgaea. It’s one of my favorite games of all time. I’m currently having a blast playing D2 that just hit Europe.


Leave a Reply

