November 4, 2013

I’m alive

Posted in life, video games tagged , at 2:16 pm by riulyn

Failed to get my draft done by the beginning of November, so I won’t be graduating this fall. That’s okay, as I have some breathing room now. I just have to fight the temptation to play all the games.

While I’ve been gone, I managed to finally finish off SMT IV and indulged in some non-RPGs – an otome game called Hakuoki (the 3DS port) and Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney for DS. I bought the first Ace Attorney game for my birthday along with 999, which I hope to save for later. As expected, I was quite into Hakuoki despite vampires and stuff. I guess I’ll be getting Sweet Fuse sooner rather than later, and maybe having to import some Otomes in the future? Of course, I always feel like I understand what is going on in the Japanese when I have the English below. Plus, once I push through Suikoden Tsumu (too lazy to write out the rest) I’m sure most other games will be easier than that.

Not much else to say. It’s nearing the end of the year and I didn’t pick up anything substantial in October. Ys IV still doesn’t have a release date and I should spend the rest of my gaming money in Japan anyway. I have a few things to look forward to next year – Drakengard 3, Trails in the Sky 2, Bravely Default, Tales of Xillia 2, possibly X. I’ve done a decent job at keeping up with the games that I’ve bought that were released this year – only have Ni No Kuni and Pandora’s Tower left to conquer – but the backlog grew because of my desire to buy new and old. Next year will probably be a backlog-shrinking year though it’s too early to know if there are a billion releases waiting for me to buy them. While certain games get announced way too early, other ones just show up in the middle of nowhere. That’s the fun of the gaming industry when all types of players are involved.

Either way, I’ll let all those other people buy those PS4s, XboxOnes, and WiiUs this fall/winter. What are you all buying or preventing yourself from buying or in general up to?

4 Comments »

  1. Joseph said,

    Playing ni no kuni, star ocean 3 (if you can believe it) and Valkyrie profile 2. Got all excited about old ps2 games for some reason. Still need to finish xillia and last story. Looking forward to lots of gaming this winter, but will hold off on the ps4 until spring sometime. Most exciting gaming news for me is the HD remake of ffx. Absolutely cannot wait:)

    • riulyn said,

      I’m always excited about PS2 games 🙂 I actually wouldn’t mind replaying Star Ocean 3 at some point, but I definitely had to struggle through Valkyrie Profile 2 at some point. I also played SO3 like 5 years before VP2 so VP2 is fresher somewhat in my memory.

      I’m guessing you are getting FFX HD for the PS3? I bought a used copy (of the original) last year in preparation for the RPGamer marathon but I won’t be able to join along. Otherwise it’s kind of low on my replay list, so I don’t think I’ll get to it without some outside motivation. The remake certainly looks nice.

      • Joseph said,

        Yeah ps3. It’s my favorite FF for a lot of reasons so an HD remake is really exciting! And I’m having way more fun with SO3 than I anticipated. Currently trying to decide which party members to recruit. Yeah VP2 is a little hit or miss but I like the battle system luckily. Story is really pretty bad. No feelings whatsoever about the characters lol

  2. Joseph said,

    Also, glad you are still alive lol


Leave a Reply

