January 5, 2014

2014 Goals

Posted in life, video games tagged , , , at 12:14 pm by riulyn

My 2014 goals are few but pretty major.

  1. Graduate
  2. Get a job
  3. Beat more games than I buy
  4. Make some more sheet music
  5. Not allow my apartment to get as messy as it did last year

The world runs on money, so replacing my grad school income with something else is the major thing for the year. It’s good and bad to be graduating; there’s the potential for earning more money or doing something more interesting, but I also have to take more responsibility and there may also be a significant time between grad school and the next career thing. I’ve already ranted on this before, so I’ll stop here.

My game-buying plans are pretty modest at the moment. I plan to just preorder Bravely Default, Drakengard 3, Trails in the Sky 2, Tales of Xillia 2, and “X” (if that releases, but not getting a Wii U yet) this year if I don’t get a job this year. I don’t think Persona 5 will come out this year? I also have Sorcery Saga to order once I return to Seattle. Once I get a job I hope to return to buying 1-3 games/month. I have a pretty long list of games I’d still like to pick up. And one day I hope to buy games other than RPGs more regularly.

Because I plan to be somewhat light on the game buying side, I hope to make a decent dent in my backlog. I’ve just beaten Dragon Quest IX, reducing my backlog to 72 games at the moment (at least according to my Backloggery). There’s no way I’ll beat 72 games this year, but something around 20 should be doable. Oh wait, my brother just gifted me two more games for my laptop. It’s tough keeping track of digitally-purchased games… That reminds me that a good chunk of my backlog is Steam games…

I hope to replay a few games this year as well. Last year I did an okay job covering the Suikoden main series, just running out of steam after Suikoden IV so I didn’t end up playing Tactics. This year I hope to replay the Xenosaga trilogy and Xenogears. Also, I plan to replay some games while I participate in the RPGamer marathon (or whatever it is called). I don’t plan to buy any games in order to play along except maybe Legend of Dragoon off of PSN, but I will be replaying Chrono Cross this month, the Last Story in April (via New Game+), and The World Ends With You in December (also New Game+). I hope my Japanese is good enough for NieR Replicant (instead of NieR Gestallt which is what came over to the U.S.) in November. I’m currently doing okay with Tales of Innocence R, so combined with familiarity with NieR Replicant’s overall plot it should be fine.

In terms of backlogged games that I want to beat this year, the RPGamer challenge actually covers some games I really need to play like Radiant Historia, Radiata Stories, and Resonance of Fate (which all start with “R” haha). I also need to finally conquer Valkyria Chronicles (and possibly get to the sequel). Crap, I just realized I didn’t look for Valkyria Chronicles 3 in Japan…oh well. Anyway, I would also like to get through the Atelier Iris trilogy and maybe the Ar tonelico games. There’s enough similarity between the battle systems in those games for me to not want to be playing an Atelier and an Ar tonelico game at the same time. If I have extra money at some point this year I think I’d like to get some of the Atelier games for PS3. Just have to do that research when that time comes.

If I’m feeling tactical, I really should finish Disgaea and decide whether I get the others for portables at some point. I still have Tactics Ogre which is lost in my now sizeable PSP backlog and Growlanser 2 & 3 remakes on PS2. I personally don’t see myself making too much of a dent in my tactics game backlog, though.

As for non-RPGs, I should be starting up 999 soon. Otherwise, I’m more likely to pop in one of those visual novel romance games I got in Japan than the two Zelda games that I have or get to my non-RPG games on Steam. If I get a job then I’ll be highly tempted to buy the Ace Attorney games and marathon them. Otherwise this year will be light on the non-RPGs as well.

Anyway, I’m hoping that 2014 is a good year for all of us, both in gaming and in general 😀

8 Comments »

  1. Joseph said,

    pretty awesome plan for the year! I’m just hoping to actually finish a few of the games Istart. I need to catalogue my backlog sometime bc I don’t even know what’s in there anymore. Hoping to finish Xillia, kingdom hearts 1.5, suikoden V (finally got a copy, really enjoying it so far), xenosaga 3, last of us, and the ps3 atelier series. For purchases I’m going for lightning returns and ffx hd, maybe a pre order on ffx. I just finished Dragon quest ix myself and found it really enjoyable. Best handheld rpg I’ve played yet. Glad you made it back from Japan safely, and good luck with the big career moves!!!

    • riulyn said,

      I think Dragon Quest is one of those series that I’ll appreciate but never really get into. Nevertheless I felt that DQ9 had a lot of good points but I did prefer DQ8’s more unified-feeling plot and actual party members.

      I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying Suikoden V so far. I think the game only gets better from the start, so I hope it’s like that for you too.

      As for Lightning Returns, I am just too far behind in FFXIII games to do it, though I think I would like it? I feel like I would like the FFXIII games more than FFXII, if I ever got myself to play them.

      Oh, and I think you’ll like Xenosaga 3 so you should definitely try to play it when you have the time.

      • Joseph said,

        Can’t wait to play xeno 3, but 2 just slowed me down. It was a real drag imo. Did you not like ffxii? Xiii is awesome if you prefer story over gameplay which I do. Although between the two I liked xii more. Suikoden v is absolutely fantastic so far. Best dueling combat in the series I think. Really fun

      • riulyn said,

        I’m definitely more of a story over gameplay person, with interesting characters being more important than background intrigue. At some point I was dragging my feet through FFXII and monster hunts were the only thing keeping my interest. I believe it was the big travel sequence from one end of the continent to the other on foot that really killed my motivation. Funnily enough there’s a similar stretch in Xenoblade but for some reason I easily made it through that one fine. Probably because I was already invested in the characters and the world was amazingly beautiful while I just never cared for anyone besides Balthier in FFXII.

        The whole interesting characters being more important to me than interesting world explains a lot of how I personally rank games, but that’s probably a long enough ramble for a future blog post.

      • Joseph said,

        Hmmm, now you have me thinking. I guess I would prioritize this way:
        Characters
        Story (and optional side stories)
        Battle System
        World
        Music
        Makes music seem unimportant but it’s just not as much of a deal breaker for me as a bad lead role or a poor story. I have been known to stick with a game that has a bad story just for the battle system though, so I’m a little bit torn lol. (SO4 I’m looking at you) Ultimately though I think a successful game needs all of the above or I probably won’t finish it. Leads me to this question: What is the worst rpg you have ever finished? I’m trying to think of my own answer to this…probably Xeno 2. One of the few games I finished and wasn’t getting that sort of “sad it’s over” nostalgic feeling, but simply felt relieved

      • riulyn said,

        That’s a hard question. I think Lufia Curse of the Sinistrals might be the worst I’ve finished? I was still amused by it and it was short enough that I didn’t feel like I had to drag my feet through it. However it felt like a really watered down and dumb experience. If I ever finish Lufia: Ruins of Lore, that will win the honor of worst RPG I’ve beaten.

        I seriously don’t remember having a bad time with Xeno 2. Since so many other people have had bad experiences with it (I only remember thinking that the story was too short…which seems to be a complaint very few others have), I’m curious to see how I react to it this time around. Xeno 2 and Suikoden IV, another frequently hated game, were games I started and finished over spring breaks in high school, so they might have benefited from being played in such a short time. I didn’t enjoy Suikoden IV so much in my replay last year, so it’s quite possible I will enjoy Xeno 2 less, but hopefully not enough to make me hate it.

      • Joseph said,

        Actually it really only has one issue: the battle system. It just takes so much attention to detail to manage to do damage that I found it exhausting. If it hadn’t been for a hidden leveling spot that I abused in the extreme I doubt I would have finished it haha. Good luck!
        I’ve only played a little of the original Lufia on an emulator, and it was actually pretty fun. But I have heard terrible things about the reboots.
        Suikoden Iv is a game that I wanted to love but just sort of couldn’t. It’s one of those games that didn’t stuck with me at all aside from a vague memory of sailing a ship and having a powerful rune or something. On a side note, I played the intro to Suikoden II on my brother’s Ouya over the break (emulated). Sigh. It’s officially at the top of my must have list haha

  2. Paul said,

    I’ll join you on playing Xenosaga…well, I only have ep 1. But man, that card mini-game and its weird email system. I really liked it.


Leave a Reply

