April 13, 2014

Q1 2014 Wrap-up – A Short Version

Posted in video games tagged , , , , , , , , , , , at 6:35 pm by riulyn

I’ve done a decent job reviewing the games that I beat from January-March so I’m not going to go over them in depth here. Besides I’m lazy so I’m going with the “short” version. (Not actually short since there are 11 games)

RECOMMENDED GAMES

Ar tonelico (PS2). I would recommend this Gust game over the Atelier Iris games if you want Gust on your PS2. The story is pretty interesting and you really get to know the girls, who indeed have a lot of layers to their personality.

Dragon Quest 9 (DS). If you don’t have the means to play Dragon Quest 8, then this game is probably a good one to try to see how much you’d like the series. Plot is a little less strong than in other entries and it can get grindy if you want to try out the different job classes without a plan. It’s also probably the cheapest DQ game besides DQ8.

Tokimeki Memorial: Girl’s Side 1st Love (DS). A complicated dating sim that kind of feels like a RPG since you grind for stats and like a text adventure because your answers matter. The Japanese isn’t very difficult in it and the boys are cute. A FAQ is highly recommended (I myself need to do a few runs with one in hand at some point).

Valkyria Chronicles (PS3). Even if the battle system isn’t really your thing in the end, it certainly separates itself from other JRPGs in that aspect. It also has a cast of good characters and a moving story.

IT DEPENDS ON WHAT YOU WANT

Atelier Iris: Eternal Mana (PS2). There’s not enough other stuff done well in this game to recommend it to people who don’t want to explore the item synthesis system. If you want something that moves with a purpose, this game isn’t for you.

Hana Ki Sou (PSP). It’s not the BL (boys’ love) aspect that puts this text adventure game in this category, but the buildup that’s on the slow side for me. This way of storytelling may be your thing (more character interactions over things that seem kind of trivial such as food) or it might seem like it’s taking too long to get to the good part (and I’m not referring to romance but the interesting characters and if I say more I feel like it’s a spoiler). Oh yeah, this game’s in Japanese and uses some interesting kanji, so you may need your dictionary, though every line is voice acted.

Sorcery Saga: Curse of the Great Curry God (PSV). There’s not enough humor to carry you through if you hate dungeon crawling. The humor is also anime-ish and over the top, so that may be a turn off as well.

Suikoden Tsumugareshi Hyakunen no Toki (PSP). The game is text-heavy and the characters aren’t as interesting as they should be for a Suikoden game. Maybe it’s due to my incomplete understanding of what happened, but I don’t think they explain everything well enough either to make the game satisfying.

YOU REALLY SHOULD PLAY SOMETHING ELSE FIRST

Atelier Iris 3: Grand Phantasm (PS2). Play the other Atelier Iris games first before this one. Actually you probably should just play the Atelier games on PS3 if that’s your system instead (though I can’t say for sure since I haven’t played PS3 Atelier games yet).

Shadows of Destiny (PS2). The mystery is decent, but I don’t think the characters are that interesting. Maybe if I did some side quests the world would seem fuller, but I wish the NPCs were more interesting as well and would change their lines more often. I’m sure there are plenty of other text adventure mysteries that are better than this one.

Tales of Innocence R (PSV). I have a long post on this already, but pretty much play all the other mainline Tales games instead of this one first, if you can.

2 Comments »

  1. spatrick1346 said,

    I remember getting stuck about halfway through Valkyria Chronicles when you have to fight the blue-haired (KOS-MOS lookalike) chick. I tried a few different times and gave up. I’d like to start the game over and beat it someday. Do you remember having a hard time or having to follow a certain strategy?

    • riulyn said,

      I’m not sure which battle you are referring to, but if I’m thinking of the same person, I think the only things I remember using against her were grenades and lancers, and she needed to be facing the other way in order for them to be effective. If that’s not working, it’s probably better to look up a FAQ.


Leave a Reply

