December 3, 2014

5 video game series that have dominated my thoughts this year

Posted in video games tagged , , , , , at 8:50 am by riulyn

I can’t believe it is already December. What I can believe is my habit of wanting to blog on the morning preceding a presentation instead of practicing my talk. I’m always worried about my inability to speak coherently, especially when I get nervous or excited. I just have to survive for 6 minutes this time! Or at least, it usually takes me 6 minutes to get through the presentation…

Anyway, one of the things I thought about last night was the video games that I’ve been into this year. Not just ones I’ve played a lot, but ones I have been thinking about. And thus I have the top 5 video game series that have dominated my gaming thoughts of 2014.

1. Suikoden. Is that a surprise? I don’t think it can be for anyone who knows me well enough. Suikoden is always on my mind, but a combination of Suikoden always present on my tumblr dashboard, Suikoden Day, Suikoden II ESRB drama, Suikoden streaming on the Konami twitch channel, and of course playing Suikoden games this year helps. I’m still working on getting the ending of Suikogaiden I and off to Suikogaiden II. However, Suikogaidens are not the end of my Suikoden journey, even if I will have played all the video game releases in some form by completing Suikogaiden II. I have Suikoden I and II for PSP and I even purchased Suikoden I off of PSN. The Suikoden never stops for me!

2. Tales of. This has been another heavy Tales of year for me. I conquered Tales of Innocence R, Tales of Hearts R, and Tales of Xillia 2, while also replaying Tales of Xillia. Usually I don’t play that many Tales games in one year. Tales is also on my mind because of Zestiria. It looks pretty good and it can’t go wrong with dragons, right? I also had a small urge to try to conquer Tales of Legendia, or at least get through the character quests this time. I need to stop being lazy and do well on this interview and get that full-time job! Then I can easily buy a PS2, even a new one if I want it to be shinier!

3. Xenosaga. It’s been on my mind not only due to Xenosaga being on my tumblr dashboard at times, but because this year was a pretty big fail in terms of replaying the Xenosaga games. I really do love the story and concept of the Xenosaga series, but I just somehow cannot deal with Xenosaga I’s battle system. I guess I’ve become too soft recently and Xenosaga I seems so drawn-out with battles. They aren’t pushover battles but the animations are long and it’s more like battles of attrition. I don’t want to rely on KOS-MOS for everything, but she’s like the only character who gets things done! Maybe I should really just skip to Xenosaga 3…

4. Ys. I am currently very obsessed with Ys. I’ve been playing all the Ys music, playing Ys Origin, just bought Ys VI, watched a video on YouTube talking about all the Ys releases they knew of in 2011 (thus not mentioning Ys Origin). I am probably going to replay all the Ys games that I own next year. I even contemplated buying Ys vs Sora no Kiseki Alternative Saga, but then I thought, there could be spoilers for Sora no Kiseki (Trails in the Sky in English) and I have only played the first in the Sora no Kiseki series. That second game needs to get to us in English soon… It’s actually getting harder to find in Japanese online and also more expensive… Anyway, Ys is also on the mind due to the announcement of a Ys VIII (or whatever they will call it). If it improves on Ys IV for Vita, I will be totally obsessed with playing it.

5. Persona. Persona 3 & 4 is being milked hardcore, so there’s that. It doesn’t hurt when some of my tumblr buddies are super into Persona 4 and Persona Q right now. Then my brother was like “what about Persona 4 Arena?” and thus I started a Persona 4 replay so I can work on some new social links and actually get the true ending. My progress has slowed though due to my current Ys obsession, but I am still enjoying it. I am pretty done with Persona 3, though, after playing through the game and getting most social links twice. Though at least with the PSP version it was a male and a female playthrough. I don’t want to even contemplate FES. I have no desire to ever subject myself to that… But Persona Q maybe someday…

Anyway, I hope everyone has had a good gaming year so far! I plan to cap this year off by finishing a few more games. Let’s see how successful that plan is…

Leave a Reply

