December 30, 2014

2015 Gaming Plans/Goals

Posted in video games tagged , , , at 8:53 pm by riulyn

2014 was a pretty good personal gaming year, even if I only bought 4 games released in 2014: Bravely Default, Drakengard 3, Tales of Xillia 2, and Child of Light. Smash Brothers 3DS also came out this year, but I didn’t buy it – my brother did for me. I beat more games than I acquired this year, and the numbers look even better if I don’t count the random Steam games I got via the Humble Bundle. I think what was also good about this year was playing a decent variety of games. I played visual novels, action RPGs, tactical RPGs, Japan-only RPGs, western indie RPGs.

There’s not really a lot to summarize about 2014 otherwise (also I am too lazy to do so), so instead I will talk about 2015. 2015 should be an interesting year as my main gaming genre, JRPGs, will start having PS4 entries. However personally I see it being another rather light year for purchases. I already posted on my 2015 anticipated games here. I’m still not in a good employment situation so I’m probably not going to gamble on unknown quantities when I have 2014 and earlier goodies to still pick up. I see my 2015 purchases as mostly the following:

  1. Anticipated 2015 games aka Xenoblade Chronicles X and whatever else I really die for
  2. 2014 games that I think I want to get like Demon Gaze
  3. Atelier games. Have to decide whether to get the cheaper PS3 or the Vita ones with DLC included but then they are only digital…
  4. PSOne/PS2 classics when they have awesome deals. Though I might get Grandia for the list price of $6 anyway.
  5. Maybe getting the Sora no Kiseki games in Japanese? I have to figure out just how much I want to wait for English localization and how much I want them now. Especially since I still have this urge to buy Ys vs Sora no Kiseki Alternative Saga and I don’t want to run into Sora no Kiseki spoilers there…

My overall gaming goal for 2015 is obviously to continue to whittle away at my backlog. I’ve actually done a decent job at playing through the games I bought in Japan, but my PS2 and Gamecube/Wii backlog are decent sized. In addition, I have some huge RPGs on my Steam list such as Mass Effect and the Last Remnant. I’d say my top 5 gaming goals would be

  1. Play Mass Effect games
  2. Continue to play Japanese games. I just bought Valkyria Chronicles 3 so I have some hardcore stuff to work with.
  3. Play and finish the well-loved Skies of Arcadia Legends
  4. Finally finish Disgaea and then borrow my brother’s copy of Disgaea D2
  5. Finish Shadow Hearts Covenant and From the New World

This year was pretty fail in terms of a Xenosaga replay, as I struggled with having interest in the battle system. Playing Ys Origin really sparked my desire for Ys games, so I bought and quickly got through Ys VI. Still, my fingers are still itching for Ys action, so I think I will actually replay the Ys series entries I own instead of just declaring my intent to replay them. Otherwise, I really want to replay Xenogears at some point.

Anyway, happy end of 2014 and hope 2015 is awesome!

Leave a Reply

