May 28, 2015

New 3DS? Maybe a Japanese new 3DS

Posted in video games tagged , , at 6:21 pm by riulyn

Region locks make me mad. Rereleasing a system only two years after I got mine is annoying, but technically it had been out 4 years before the re-release. Making new software not compatible with the old hardware even though it is technically the same system… Well, so far I have not had to deal with that yet. But I’ll have to at some point. Which means

1) Become Vita-exclusive in the future in terms of handheld gaming. Most new games I’m looking into handheld-wise are on the Vita, so this wouldn’t actually be bad. May not be able to buy any new 3DS games at some point (so far only Xenoblade 3DS has been new 3DS exclusive, I think?).

2) Get a Japanese new 3DS and access all the Japan-exclusive 3DS games + any new Japanese games. Gives me a few new RPGs (Beyond the Labyrinth, etc.), anime-based games (Attack on Titan, etc.), other random casual games (Funasshi vs Dragons!). Will help level up my Japanese knowledge. Lose out on new 3DS-exclusive games in English (supporting localization efforts, games being cheaper in general).

3) Get a US new 3DS. Possibly get rid of the Fire Emblem regular 3DS. Probably the best way to continue playing 3DS games if I care only for the big hits. Nintendo and Atlus appear to at least localize their stuff, and who else is really making RPGs for the 3DS?

I’d probably be jumping up and down for option #2 if I wasn’t actually not remembering any Japan-exclusive 3DS RPGs besides Beyond the Labyrinth and Dragon Quest games (which I am maybe not the biggest fan of). I like the option of being able to play a ton of anime-based games, but in practice I’m really still a sucker for RPGs.

Anyway, please tell me about more Japan-exclusive 3DS RPGs, visual novels, dating sims, text adventures, etc. I’d hate to decide not to pick up a new 3DS in Japan in September just because I didn’t know of something.

Leave a Reply

