June 14, 2015

Gust Gust NISA Gust

Posted in video games tagged , , , , at 10:40 am by riulyn

After finishing up Infinite Undiscovery on Thursday, my major gaming plans of the future pretty much goes like this

Atelier Rorona Plus (Gust)
Ar tonelico Qoga (Gust)
Operation Abyss New Tokyo Legacy (NISA)
Ar no surge Plus (Gust)

Of course, plenty of other things too, but I just enjoyed this pattern. I’m really enjoying Atelier Rorona and I think I’m pretty much going to be getting into all the Atelier. Surprisingly I actually like Rorona better than the Iris trilogy games. Maybe because the main plots of the Iris games weren’t that great but the other stuff was decent, and Rorona just focuses on the other stuff? It’s a nice change of pace from just straight-up RPG. I can see how someone could get tired out from playing games like that constantly, though, so a break is probably in order before I take on Totori.

I still have issues with Ar tonelico Qoga, but ultimately playing Ar tonelico 2 convinced me that I should at least get through it. Stupid hook at the end of AT2 and knowing a spoiler or two about AT3 convinced me… I’m just sad in general about the direction the series took with the tone of AT3 vs AT2. There’s always been this layer of physical intimacy¬†associated with Reyvateil interactions since the first game, but the first game just kind of glossed over it, the second game recognized it but also made fun of it, and the third game appears to turn it up to 11 and use it as a selling point. It’s just so sad when the previous games generally had very interesting and emotionally deep female characters and the third game wants to promote the girls instead as sexual fantasies… This is probably a post for a different day.

Operation Abyss New Tokyo Legacy came in with a bonus CD which was quite nice. The intro song is pretty catchy. I have a little issue with the graphics and I keep wanting to continue through the walls. Anyway, I’m amused by some of the people chosen to represent the different classes. Japanese people really like Jeanne D’Arc among other people… Anyway, once I leave Rorona I plan to dig into this one. I’ll probably stick with what they gave me at the beginning and worry about customizing on round 2.

And then last but not least in the Vita backlog, I am looking quite forward to Ar no surge Plus (comes out July 2nd in NA!). The reception towards it has been a lot better than towards Ar tonelico Qoga, so I hope that I also enjoy it more than Qoga. I’ll be on the look out for Ciel no Surge Plus in Japan, among a billion other games.

Sora no Kiseki FC Evolution also just came out and is on its way to my apartment, but I don’t see myself actually playing it soon. Still leveling up my Japanese skills and playing Hakuisei Ren’ai Shoukougun for that purpose. In the end I think FC in Japanese will be okay since I’ve played it in English already. SC is still supposed to come out this summer in English so we’ll see how I feel. Probably will support the release as well as get the Evolution version in Japanese, but we will see…

1 Comment »

  1. YvoCaro said,

    Nice to read about a fellow Atelier fan. I was wanting to download Totori next, but went for Ar Nosurge instead. Just getting started though.


Leave a Reply

