July 5, 2015

Holy crap it is already July

Posted in video games tagged , at 8:54 pm by riulyn

2015 is flying by fast, at least for me. I’m still managing to keep a good pace of games beaten vs games bought. Just barely, with the allure of all those PSN sales.

Gaming highlights from the first six months include:

  • Skies of Arcadia Legends. Amazing game. This one needs to be a Wii Classic. Or Sega needs to bring it to PC. Or something.
  • Disgaea: Hour of Darkness. Disgaea backlog has been activated! It’s seriously nice to finally beat the first game, after trying it for the first time back in 2003 or something.
  • Atelier Rorona Plus. Quite different from the Iris trilogy but I think it was a much better experience than those. It’s not a game for everyone (some people will hate the mechanics) but the characters are just so lovely and the synthesis is more fun. Atelier backlog has also been activated!

I don’t really want to call these things gaming “lowlights”, but things that weren’t as good as I hoped include:

  • Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World. The relationship between the main duo was fine and what I expected. It’s not a problem that the game is short or characters cycle in and out of your party or characters are stupid, but it really felt like “excuse to revisit all these places” game instead of a real standalone plot.
  • Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millienium Girl. There’s actually a lot of good stuff going for this game, but story mode was still not story enough for me. Or something. Like there’s a burst at the beginning and at the end, and then a prolonged problem that spans like 3 stratums or something. Not going to be jumping up and down for Fafnir Knight, that’s for sure.
  • Breath of Fire. I’m just sad I could never get into this game. There were some funny moments in it, but in the end I just had no patience and walkthroughed my way to the end of the game. I have Breath of Fire IV (PSN sale) so hoping I like that one a lot more.

So what is the expected highlights of the second half of 2015?

  • Xenoblade Chronicles X. I need to find a good excuse to reduce my work load so I can play a ton of that. I imagine 100+ hours with that game easily. I may be tied to the game for some months.
  • Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky. I’m going to finish one of the games from that series this year. It may be my replay of FC but in Japanese this time. It may be SC. It may also be Cold Steel.
  • Shadow Hearts Covenant. Now that I have settled in my new place (it’s not fully organized, but whatever) I really will get a replacement PS2 and finally get to the end of that game! It was so good before I got stopped by PS2 issues.
  • Baten Kaitos. Hopefully +Origins. Yes the voice-acting sucks. But I think the plot and characters are pretty good, and I’m enjoying my replay of the first game so far. I’m not clamoring for another BK game, but if Monolithsoft could do more than just Xenoblade and support on things like Project X Zone again…
  • Mass Effect. I think what I’ve experienced in Mass Effect 1 so far is really awesome and well-written, but at the same time I think as a whole the game is just too serious for me to put up as one of my favorites. I guess I’m learning about my peculiar tastes more and more with each new game, and that for a game to truly become my favorite obsession, it has to be peculiar. Maybe Dragon Age might be more my style…once I actually get to it. Playing as FemShep is pretty damn awesome, though.
Leave a Reply

