November 26, 2015

Favorite Games Beaten in 2015 (so far)

Posted in video games tagged , , , , , at 12:25 pm by riulyn

Might as well post this now before December comes and I really get swamped in gaming (gotta watch out for Xenoblade Chronicles X eating my life).

Favorite Traditional RPG (7 choices) – Skies of Arcadia
I beat a good number of traditional RPGs this year including Chrono Trigger (DS version), Breath of Fire (GBA version), and Shadow Hearts Covenant, but Skies of Arcadia had so many things that I enjoy in a RPG – characters I love, great sense of adventure, a plot that doesn’t spend much time standing still. It also felt a bit Suikoden to me with the home base and the recruitment, which could never hurt. I also technically beat Suikoden I again this year, but Skies is in my top 5 while Suikoden is probably top 15 or 20, maybe.

Favorite Action RPG (7 choices) – Tokyo Xanadu
I found it hard to make a game I’ve played before in some format, NieR Replicant or Ys I or Ys II, my favorite action RPG of this year considering my attachment to it came years ago. Maybe Tales of Zestiria would have been the actual action RPG of the year if I had gotten to it…
Tales of Phantasia Narikiri Dungeon X gets a few props for the fast-paced linear combat system which is 5000x better than Tales of Phantasia, but the story really sucks there…

Favorite Other RPG (6 choices) – Mass Effect
Tactical RPGs, dungeon crawlers, Atelier, and more are in this category but Mass Effect was finally beaten this year and it was great! Even if it was hard for me to play a lot at once due to the shear intensity of the story. Such a great space RPG. Obviously the writing is quite different but it makes me miss the Xenosaga days…
I do have to say, Atelier Rorona was really addictive and fun for me. I plan to replay that one soon. Meanwhile I was a bit disappointed with Etrian Odyssey: The Millenium Girl. Dungeon crawling just gets too much for me later on, even in a game like Persona where there is much more plot, though at least in EO the dungeons are actually interesting.

Favorite Non-RPG (6 choices) – Blazblue Calamity Trigger
I’ve always wanted to play some Blazblue ever since I actually looked into it due to a sheet music request, and I don’t think the game disappointed my expectations at all of battle system accessibility and storyline. I kind of prefer Calamity Trigger where there is a bit more chaos going on in the plot, but I also enjoyed Continuum Shift too. I will probably pick up Chrono Phantasm at some point next year.
The two short Steam games I beat this year weren’t bad considering they came with the Ys Origin humble bundle I got a few years ago. I just ultimately want more story & motivation behind the games mechanics, even though I know it is all contrived.

Favorite Game Overall – Skies of Arcadia
No surprise here. Seriously.

4 Comments »

  1. XenosbioZ said,

    Ah I have Skies of Arcadia but never got around to play it.. I will now though!

  2. Joseph said,

    Skies is so great, glad you liked it! How did you like shadow hearts? I’m kind of a big fan lol. Curious if it landed for you as well

    • riulyn said,

      I really enjoyed the first two Shadow Hearts games, especially the combo of serious and funny moments in the second game. I like the battle system best in the third game but the plot isn’t as good for me – the plot doesn’t seem to have as strong of a driving force and it also feels pretty short, drawn-out by these last few dungeons that I’m still working on…

      • Joseph said,

        Yeah love the humor. I actually still haven’t finished new world myself. It’s def the worst plot and characters of the three. Without Yuri and Alice its just not the same


Leave a Reply

